Plant Biology 2022 Travel Grant from PUI

Travel Awards for Plant Biology 2022 for Faculty from the Primarily Undergraduate Institutions Section


The American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB) is a leader in developing and supporting professional development opportunities for members at all career stages and who are at different types of institutions. In an effort to boost plant awareness at Primarily Undergraduate Institutions (PUIs), ASPB is offering a PUI workshop in conjunction with the Plant Biology 2022 conference in Portland, OR. The workshop’s theme is “Plant Awareness”, and will focus on how PUI faculty can best communicate the importance of plant science research to prospective and current research students and collaborators, non-STEM faculty colleagues, administrators at their institution, and the public. The proposed schedule for the workshop includes a panel of PUI faculty and small-group discussions on different aspects of promoting plant awareness at PUIs.

To promote participation in this workshop and attendance at Plant Biology 2022, the PUI section has recieved funding from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for conference awards for PUI faculty to help defray some costs of travel and registration. Individuals are invited to apply for one of these $800 awards by completing this application form.

Deadline for submission of the application is Friday, February 25, 2022. Award decisions will be announced in March.

Applications will be ranked and awards preferentially given to applicants who are PUI faculty members. Working at a PUI is not an absolute requirement, though, if the application suggests that the individual is interested or involved in PUI-related research activities and lacks other funding sources to attend the meeting.

ASPB reserves the right to adjust these parameters for awardees who do not travel to Portland and instead participate in Plant Biology 20221 virtually.

Should unforeseen events prevent an award recipient from attending the meeting, the recipient must notify ASPB immediately and return the award so that a waitlisted applicant can use the funds to attend the meeting.

If you have any questions, please email Russell Johnson at


Workshop Organizing Committee Chairs

Amanda Storm, Western Carolina University

Kerry Lutz, Farmingdale State College

Carina Collins, Marian University